Getting Out Of Your Head and Into Your Body

Getting out of your head and into your body. Does this phrase look familiar? It closely resembles my own business slogan: Getting you out of your head and into your freedom. These two phrases essentially mean the same thing. When you can distance yourself from your mind and pay attention to what is going on in your body, you are closer to experiencing real freedom. And although I tell everyone else to do this, sometimes I forget to do this myself.

Lately I’ve been spending a lot of time in my head analyzing, calculating, planning, wondering, dreaming, and worrying. I’ve been thinking about what I should be doing, what I have to do, what I want to do, what I need to do, why I’m doing what I’m doing, and, well, you get the idea! So what’s the problem with this, you ask? You may be thinking how great this is and want to congratulate me for being so busy and productive. Well, this state of being is actually the furthest thing from being productive and it certainly doesn’t lead you any closer to the life you are meant to life. When I am in this excessive thinking state I am less productive, more confused, anxious, find it extremely hard to make decisions and I feel S-H-I-T-T-Y.

Using only your mind to make your decisions and live your life is like shooting an arrow in the dark and trying to get a bull’s eye. It’s just plain hard, and there’s a better chance you’ll miss than get that bull’s eye. The mind is here to help us and be on our side, but it cannot function at its full potential if we are relying on it to do all the work.

This is where our bodies come in handy. Martha Beck describes our bodies as our own navigational equipment, our inner GPS. When we can quiet our mind and become aware of, listen to, and feel our body, we can use the valuable information it gives us to steer us in the right direction like a GPS System; to the life we are meant to live. The only way to live authentically and fully is to reacquaint yourself with and become best buddies with your body.

When I connect with my body, it feels like I’ve come home. It’s a safe place where you will only hear the truth. But in order to hear the truth, you have got to listen.

Right when I realized that I hadn’t been spending much time paying attention to or listening to my body, it all made so much sense. Well, of course I’ve been feeling frazzled and frantic, I have only been using half of my equipment! Of course I’ve been feeling more anxious and ungrounded lately, I’ve been spending all my time up in the clouds (in my head) so things are foggy and confusing. So what did I do when I realized I had forgotten about my body? I made the time to connect with it.

Monday morning, sitting in my room on the ground, snuggling in a warm blanket with the sound of rain pouring outside, I close my eyes and connect. Instead of running away from my body by thinking about why the hell I feel anxious this morning, I just go ahead and feel my anxiousness. After feeling the energy in my body the anxiety dissipates. Instead of dissociating from my body by thinking about all the things I want or have to do today, I stay in the present moment by feeling my body. My to-do list will still be there when I’m ready for it in fifteen minutes. Constantly holding a to-do list in your mind creates a low-level of stress buzzing in your body, so why not release it when you can? Instead of escaping from my body by thinking how this is such a waste of time, I feel my heart open up to receive peaceful, healing energy that spreads throughout my body. I feel warmth. I feel comfortable. I feel pure joy. I can’t help but smile. I hear my soul’s wisdom. This is what you need. This is what life is about. Everything you need is within you. And that’s the plain truth.

After fifteen therapeutic minutes I open my eyes. I no longer feel the anxious energy I was feeling before. I feel excited to start my day. The wisdom from my soul re-charged me. When you take the time to listen to your body/soul, the more and more messages you will hear that will help steer you in the right direction. Today it reminded me how important it is to make the time to connect with my body AND it provided me with a blogpost I was excited to write about! (Side note: I was mentally beating myself up for the past two weeks because I couldn’t think of what I wanted to write about for my next blogpost. The moment I connected with my body, BAM, I’ve got it! If that’s not productive and efficient, I don’t know what is…) Last autumn it told me to pursue life coaching, and two weeks ago it told me to apply to a little boutique down the road. Each time I listen to my soul wisdom it always fascinates me and leads me in the right direction.

I encourage you to take the time to quiet your mind and listen to your own soul wisdom so you too can start cultivating your own pathway to your own authentic, freedom-filled life.

2 thoughts on “Getting Out Of Your Head and Into Your Body

Leave a Reply

