Believe You Will…

Are you stuck knee-deep in pain right now? If you are, I know how you feel. I’ve been there. ‘Tis not fun! And I want to let you in on a little secret. Do not waste your time hanging out in health forums so you can learn about all those people who have lived with this or that condition for ump-teen years. It will NOT help you heal. In fact, that knot in your stomach that appears every time you log on to those forums is actually increasing your pain!

Bottom line: You can’t trust everything on the internet. Don’t waste your time believing wrong information.

When I was knee-deep in pain and desperately searching for “the” cure, or anything to ease my Interstitial Cystitis (IC) symptoms, I visited forums now and then. I would find forums for people with IC who were all there for the same reason – to find a tiny little shred of hope. Everyone was searching for hope, and no one was giving out any. Everyone was stuck and desperate, and reading posts about people who were stuck and desperate did NOT make me feel better. “If no one else is getting better, then how am I to?” I would think. So, did I find hope there? Nadda. I did, however, find out that I would have to cut out 50% of the foods I loved and stop exercising in order to lessen my symptoms of IC. Lessen, not get rid of, just lessen. And at the expense of cutting out caffeine and my favourite fruits. These forums made me believe I would have to modify my lifestyle in order to live a happier and less disruptive life with IC. Bleh! This made me feel worse, hopeless, and depressed.

Fast forward to my life now. Now what I know to be true: anything that makes you feel worse, hopeless, depressed, or anything like you’ve been tied to a chain link fence, is just not true. And I have first-hand evidence to back this up. I’m free of IC. Free of pain. And I drank tea and ate ketchup and pineapple throughout my healing process! Those anxiety-provoking forums told me I would have to live with IC, and not with tea, ketchup, and pineapple. Hmm. Talk about WRONG, WRONG, WRONG! Anything that gives you an awful feeling in your body is a hint that what you are thinking or believing or reading is NOT TRUE! I felt awful when I was reading these posts that told me I would have to live with it forever because it wasn’t true. My body knew this. My soul knew this. It wasn’t about the food, or the exercise, or taking medication that had anything to do with me getting better!! It was nothing about this stuff, and all about learning more about myself, my soul, my emotions, my body, and my thoughts. It was all about learning who I was, what I loved, what I hated, what I yearned for, what I was passionate about. It was all about me and me only. And doesn’t that feel great? Knowing that you have the power within yourself to get rid of your pain? You might need a little guidance to get there, but you can get there.

If you have pain, have you been believing or finding information on the internet that makes you feel trapped, alone, and depressed? Even if you’re not dealing with pain, is there someone in your life that is telling you something that feels icky? Is there something you are believing that makes you feel defeated? Identify the “thing” and then get excited because now you know that it holds no truth! There’s no point listening to any of that false information anymore! What’s more important than thinking you can’t, is thinking you can. If you believe you can get better, you will. If you believe you can accomplish something, you will. If you believe you are doing the right thing, you are.

Belief gives you that bit of hope you need to start on your own successful journey, whatever that journey may be.

Leave a Reply

